Crabble Corn Mill was built in 1812 to supply flour to troops defending the Kent coast from possible invasion from Napoleon's forces. Now run entirely by volunteers, following restoration in 1986, the mill has been open to the public since 1990. It can now boast to be one of the most complete and working examples of a Georgian watermill in Europe.
The current structure was built in 1812 alongside an existing mill that was later demolished to allow for additional storage space (now the ground floor exhibition area and tea rooms). Records show that a mill has stood on the site since as early as 1227, when Henry III granted a Charter of Confirmation to St. Radigund's Abbey (the ruins of which can be seen today on the hill above River village).
The Mill is a working museum and demonstrates Georgian and Victorian engineering excellence at work using the powerful force of water. Six floors of exhibits and milling machinery describe the process of turning wheat into flour, and this wholemeal flour is available for sale at the Mill.
The café, which is also available for private functions, serves a variety of snacks and has a fully licensed bar serving a variety of beers, cider, wines and spirits. There is no admission charge to the café, although it's hoped that guests would take a tour of the Mill while visiting.
Various events will take place throughout the year so look at the Crabble Corn Mill website and our What's On section for more details.